## ISWCDEA Annual Meeting Minutes December 6, 2023

Illinois Soil and Water Conservation District Employee Association Co-Chair Sarah Earles welcomed everyone to the breakfast and meeting. Sarah called upon Josh Joseph to give the Invocation. Guests then partook in a buffet breakfast prepared by Northfield Inn and Conference Center.

The 2023 Annual Meeting of the Illinois Soil and Water Conservation District Employee Association was called to order by Co-Chair Sarah Earles at 8:46 a.m. Sarah introduced special guests in attendance: Brian Rennecker, Marty McManus, Elliot Lagacy, Debbie Gray, Shelley Ray, and Nikki Pembrook, all with Illinois Department of Agriculture (IDOA). Teri Fahey, with the Association of Illinois Soil & Water Conservation Districts (AISWCD), was also introduced.

ISWCDEA Co-Chair Sarah Earles called upon ISWCDEA Secretary Rhonda Koehne to present the 2022 ISWCDEA Annual Meeting Minutes. Rhonda announced the 2022 Minutes were printed in the program. Tara Hopkins moved to approve the minutes as printed. Spring Duffey seconded the motion. The motion carried.

ISWCDEA Co-Chair Sarah Earles called upon ISWCDEA Treasurer Karla Smith to present the 2023 Financial Reports. Karla announced the 2023 Financial Reports were printed in the program. Spring Duffey moved to approve the financial reports as printed. Tara Hopkins seconded the motion. The motion carried.

ISWCDEA Co-Chair Sarah Earles presented the ISWCDEA Highlights for the year as printed in the program. The highlights included that the ISWCDEA planned/attended/promoted 2022 Winter Training, Legislative Day, Summer Conference, and Area NRCS meetings. The ISWCDEA Co-chairs participated in AISWCD Quarterly Board Meetings. ISWCDEA sponsored Outstanding District Employee, Employee Service Awards, and \$500 Scholarship. ISWCDEA also supported Illinois Envirothon, continuation of Employee Health benefits, and Illinois NLRS Strategic Plan. They also worked on AISWCD/NRCS contribution agreement funding increases, Citrix issue awareness, Certified Planner support for SWCD employees, Legislative contacts for increased operation funds, and improving ISWCDEA website and employee training.

ISWCDEA Co-Chair Becky Taylor introduced the 2023 ISWCDEA Board members. She then asked the 2024 ISWCDEA Board members to come forward. Tara Hopkins performed the Induction of the 2024 ISWCDEA Board Members.

Tara Hopkins gave the Nominating Committee Report for the 2024 ISWCDEA Officers. Those nominees were:

Becky Taylor, RC, Livingston County	
Sarah Earles, AC/RC, Ford County	
Mitchell Killough, RC, Vermilion County	
Bethany Ingram, AC/RC, Jackson County	
Kathy Bircket, AC, Wayne County	
Karla Smith, AC, Peoria County	
	Sarah Earles, AC/RC, Ford County Mitchell Killough, RC, Vermilion County Bethany Ingram, AC/RC, Jackson County Kathy Bircket, AC, Wayne County

Tara asked for other officer nominations from the floor. No other nominations were presented. Josh Joseph made a motion to approve the slate of officers and install them as duly elected to their offices. Spring Duffey seconded the motion. Motion carried. Tara Hopkins performed the Induction of the 2024 ISWCDEA Officers.

ISWCDEA Vice Co-Chairs Bethany Ingram and Mitchell Killough announced the Employee Service Award recipients. Recipients were:

## <u>5 Years</u>

Ellie Crowe, Menard County; Aaron Dinderman, Stephenson County; Nancy Kitchens, Gallatin County; Michelle Piller, Edwards County; and Kari Schnelten, Greene County

10 Years

Mary Hess, Madison County; Patricia Paxson, Whiteside County; and Michelle Seman, Sangamon County **15 Years** 

Tara Hopkins, Edgar County

<u>20 Years</u>

None

25 Years

Spring Duffey, McHenry County; Mindy Eaton, JoDaviess County; Brenda McMillan, Cass County; and Brenda Merriman, Lee County

<u>30 Years</u>

Sue Davis, Christian County; Andy Karrick, Fulton County; and Jill Pistorius, Marshall-Putnam County <u>35 Years</u>

None

40 Years

Jim Nestleroad, Clark County

ISWCDEA Co-Chair Sarah Earles reported the ISWCDEA Scholarship winner was announced and honored at AISWCD Summer Conference. The 2023 awardee was Bradon Hartmann, son of Emily Hartmann, AC/RC in Bond County.

ISWCDEA Co-Chair Sarah Earles announced there were two nominees for the ISWCDEA Outstanding District Employee Award this year. After reading accolades about the employee, Sarah presented Jannifer Powelson of Stark County with the honor of the 2023 Outstanding District Employee title.

Burke Davies motioned to adjourn the meeting at 9:08 a.m. seconded by Dennis Anthony. Motion carried.